STEP INTO THE WAVES

Twalumba Leza

Months away from school has given me the opportunity to spend some time with God and reflect on His character and how he is moving in my life.

This year, I decided to do a “resolution word” instead of a goal. My word was FEARLESS. After going through a season in my life that had me in so much pain and anxiety I could barely stand it, I found myself constantly living in fear.  I knew I needed to learn how to trust God to give me peace to overcome this fear, and it has been an extremely difficult process. The mind is an onerous thing to quiet and discipline.
It says in Zechariah 13:9 that you have to go through fire to be refined,“And I will bring the third part through the fire, and will refine them as silver is refined, and will try them as gold is tried; they shall call on my name, and I will hear them; I will say, It is my people; and they shall say, The Lord is my God.”
 
This has proven true in my life. Today I listened to a talk about how when we go through pain, there is no way around, no pill to ease it- we just have to walk through and feel it. Sometimes, when God is working in our lives we have to feel the pain of the fire to come out on the other side more refined. We have to trust that He has a purpose for his glory in everything.
I felt called to go to Africa this spring and I was terrified. A month leading up to the trip I really did not want to go. I was scared of snakes, flying overseas, traveling on the African terrain, sleeping conditions; there were a lot of reasons to be scared of going to Zambia. I knew that the only thing I could do was pray for God’s peace, and when I did, I heard Him say to me,“Do not fear, for I the Lord your God and with you wherever you go.” I was a little shaken when I heard this. One- the voice was very clear, and two- it sounded like a verse from the bible.
walking through the bush to church

I google searched it and found it in Isaiah 31:9-10 “You whom I have taken from the ends of the earth and called from its remotest parts and said to you, “You are my servant, I have chosen you and not rejected you, do not fear for I am with you, do not dismay for I am your God; I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my victorious right hand.” 

 
I took that as I sign that I needed to trust that God would equip me with what I needed, and when I needed it, in Zambia. When I arrived in Africa, I felt such an overwhelming peace the entire time. My fear was gone, even when our team found scorpions, rats, A GREEN MAMBA*, I was not afraid. At one point I was standing 10 feet into the bush (high grass where many of the men take large sticks and rods to beat off snakes and lions, often times they will clear out this grass so they can see the snakes and critters coming, they think we are crazy for having grass in our yards) and as I stood there I realized how at peace I was, even in the most dangerous place around our orphanage.
painting a mural in the main hall

There have been times that the fear has crept in since I have been home, but I have been quick to pray against it, and the peace has been restored. God had to take me half way around the world to refine me in this area of my life, but he made me brave for his namesake, and I am thankful for how he changes me and works to refine me constantly.

“And I am certain that God, who began the good work within you, will continue his work until it is finally finished on the day when Christ Jesus returns.” Philippians 1:6
 
“For it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.” Philippians 2:13
                                                  Carly
Playtime on the tractor by banana trees
*The green mamba’s bite is lethal in 5-30 minutes
This entry was published on August 1, 2015 at 9:00 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

