STEP INTO THE WAVES

New Day: A Vision for Short Term Missions

July 14th-26th I will be traveling to Zambia to work with New Day Orphanage. I go into this with my number 1 priority being this: LOVE ON ANYONE I CAN GET MY HANDS ON.

God has made it abundantly clear to me that I am called to go to this specific place at this specific time.

 In April, I felt Africa on my heart; which is odd, because I’ve never felt strongly about doing missions there before. I started asking some leadership at my church about mission teams to Africa, and was told that they don’t really happen in the summer. It is too hot in Mali, so teams normally get sent in the fall or winter. As a teacher with 3 personal days a year, this is problematic for me. I dismissed the tug on my heart until they announced TWO WEEKS LATER out of the blue that they had decided to send a team to Zambia in July. Zambia’s winter (dry season) falls when we have our summer.

I attended the first informational meeting for the trip, and they announced that they needed people who were willing to work with kids and possibly an artist who was willing to do murals.

MY HEART STOPPED.

I was in this meeting for a reason. God had put Africa on my heart for a reason, that much was totally clear.

 As I am now fully invested in this trip, I find myself at times fearing what I could face in a place like Zambia (my husband, in his wonderful timing, told me about the dangers of the black mamba snake in Africa as we were going to sleep the night I committed to this mission).

With that said, I’m putting my fears, anxieties, and reservations aside because God’s purpose is bigger than mine. He knows what He is doing, and I usually guess myself through day-by-day.

I’ll go ahead and trust Him.

New Day kiddos, I can’t wait to love on them!
To tell you a little bit about New Day, they are a Christian-based organization that educates and homes Zambian orphans, while still instilling the Zambian culture and necessary life trades such as sewing and farming.
To learn more, the Tidwell family runs New Day and has a blog- click here.
It isn’t certain what our team will be helping with, because things change on a day to day basis at New Day. We might help with classes, go into the village for bible studies and discipling, or something else completely out of the blue could come up. You never know in the Bush!
If you would like to be a prayer partner or sponsor me on this trip, you can email me atcarlyecartmill@gmail.com for more information. Prayer is what is crucial at this point now.
 Some things you can pray specifically for are:
  • The leaders at New Day as they continually serve the kids and communities in Zambia
  • My team leaders as they prepare to lead 12 of us overseas to serve New Day
  • My heart as I prepare to serve
  • The health of my team before, during, and after our trip
  • That the Spirit of God would move in us to love, support, serve, and walk and talk alongside the Zambian people

“But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.” 

 Acts 1:8
 
“How beautiful upon the mountains are the feet of him who brings good news, who publishes peace, who brings good news of happiness, who publishes salvation, who says to Zion, “Your God reigns.””
Isaiah 52:7
This entry was published on April 1, 2015 at 9:00 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

