STEP INTO THE WAVES

Opportunities for Grace

One thing that the Lord has been teaching me is that guilt does not come from Him, conviction does. Guilt leaves us with the feeling that we’ve messed up and we’re lost, conviction reveals our error and leads us to the truth. Conviction is a product of love. Guilt is a product of hate.

For a long time I lived under guilt, and I allowed myself to be intermittently bogged down by despair and shame. I’m not saying I’ve led a terrible life, but I am saying that I didn’t understand this part of God’s character. God has brought me through some crazy things in the last year, and through it all, this lesson has remained constant. God is love, and he leads us with conviction.

I’m reminded of it at school, too. I constantly fail. I let down my kids in my planning, in loving them, in teaching them, in everything.

The first place my mind goes every time is guilt. The feeling that I will never be good enough, I’ll never be good as Mrs. Teacher-in-Second-Grade whose class adores her, or Mrs.Art-Teacher-of-the-Year at another school who seems to have the best lessons. Comparison is brutal to the heart.

Instead, I have to be reminded that guilt does not come from the Father, he offers opportunities for grace, and to do better in the situations where we feel we have failed. Because He IS love, he loves by offering us new possibilities every day, and in my case… every 40 minutes! 🙂

There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. 
Romans 8:1
This entry was published on December 1, 2014 at 8:57 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

