STEP INTO THE WAVES

Persevering

I started this school year with the mindset that I had the inclination to teach and handle every situation with the highest level of patience. My passion has always been working with kids and every job I have had since I was 16 has been working with kids, but nothing prepared me for my first full month as an elementary teacher. I quickly realized that I had the patience, but I didn’t yet have the perseverance. I am sure many other teachers can relate. I understand even at this moment I am still learning. It has come as a tough lesson that I can also find value in in my walk with God. There is a process to obtaining perseverance, and you aren’t born with it, you aren’t given it when you become a new Christian; it comes with a little bit of struggle, hardship, and learning. What I have grasped is that I cannot teach on my own, I cannot depend on myself or I will utterly fail. It takes listening to God and worshipping Him in the morning on my way to work to prepare my heart for the day, it takes diligent prayer throughout my classes, remaining joyful despite what my day looks like, and a constant check of where my motives lie in my decision making. I am imperfect, but Jesus makes up for it, and I am constantly reminded of that as I work with these little lives each day.

“And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us.”
Romans 5:4

When Paul wrote about this persevering patience, it literally translates in Greek to “an abiding under.” I have realized that in order to succeed in my calling I have to abide with Christ- not just in my small time, not just when I am in prayer- but on a moment to moment basis. We have a theme at school this year to anchor our kids to the fundamentals of learning, but once again it can apply to our faith. James calls us to anchor our lives in hope of the Lord’s promises.
“We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure. It enters the inner sanctuary behind the curtain, where Jesus has entered as a forerunner for us, having become a high priest forever according to the order of Melchizedek.”
Hebrews 6:19-20
This entry was published on November 1, 2014 at 8:56 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

