STEP INTO THE WAVES

The Waiting Game

If you know me, you know my last few years have been an adventure. Living in London, experiencing an array of different countries in Europe in the process, moving back to Arkansas and getting to work as a museum educator at Crystal Bridges, getting engaged to Ben and now finding my dream job- it has been a whirlwind of a life the last few years.

Through it all I have kept blogs, and with everything God is teaching me in this season, it is especially relevant now.
This summer was hard. I applied for countless jobs, interviewed for a few, and got rejected by all with,

“You’re great, you’re what we are looking for, but we found someone with a little more experience!”It was disheartening every time. I questioned whether I was pursuing the right path.

As I sat waiting for the Crystal Bridges tram system one day, I was convicted by the quiet voice my doubt had been squelching. God’s timing is perfect, the position I hadn’t gotten was perfect for someone else, but it wasn’t perfect for what his purpose was for me. I had to be patient and wait.

I waited alright.
I had finally resigned myself to the fact that I was probably going to wait another school year, and work at Crystal Bridges this fall. Then I got a call from my former kindergarten teacher two weeks before school was to start. She was looking to fill an art teaching position at her school (she is now the principal).
I went in, interviewed, got the job, and in a matter of a few days I was hired on at Springdale Schools! If I am not a living testament of God’s perfect timing I don’t know who is. I know God allows us to go through the rough spots in life so we can grow closer to Him and persevere, but y’all, there is no doubt in my mind that He also works for the good of those who love Him and have faith in Him. I am learning how to teach and show the love of Jesus to these kids in my classroom every day through my actions, and I hope to share it with you on this blog.
Whatever season you find yourself in, know that He has a plan and is working in you and refining you for His glory and purpose. 

“But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently. In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express. And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints in accordance with God’s will. And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” Romans 8:25-28
This entry was published on October 1, 2014 at 8:54 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

